Navy Federal Credit Union’s referral program is only reachable if you can already become a Navy Federal member — membership requires active-duty or veteran military affiliation, DoD civilian/contractor status, or an eligible family member, plus a $250-$255 opening deposit. If you don’t qualify for Navy Federal membership, no referral bonus is available to you at all. Here’s what Navy Federal actually offers members, and how REIL Capital’s open-sign-up partner program compares.
Navy Federal Membership Is the Real Gate
Before any product or referral bonus matters, membership eligibility does: a business must first become a Navy Federal “business member,” which requires all business owners to already be individual Navy Federal members. Individual membership is restricted to active-duty Army, Marine Corps, Navy, Air Force, Coast Guard, National Guard, and Space Force personnel; veterans, retirees, and annuitants; DEP/ROTC members; DoD civilian employees; certain DoD contractors and retirees; and eligible family members. Business membership setup requires a $250 initial deposit for a sole proprietorship or $255 for an LLC, corporation, or other entity. Navy Federal defines a “start-up business” as one with less than 2 years in business.
If you don’t fit one of those military, DoD, or family-affiliation categories, Navy Federal’s products — and any referral bonus tied to them — aren’t available to you, regardless of your credit or revenue.
What Navy Federal Offers Members
For members who do qualify, Navy Federal’s business products include Commercial Real Estate Loans (5-year term / 20-year amortization standard, fixed or variable, no prepayment penalty, loan amount not disclosed), Business Lines of Credit (secured, starting at $10,000 — the only disclosed rate across all four products is its “checking line of credit” at 17.90% APR), Business Vehicle Loans (no fees, no prepayment penalty, amount and rate not disclosed), and Business Secured Term Loans (starting at $25,000, described only as “competitive rates” with no figure disclosed). Rate disclosure is thin: just 1 of these 4 products has a published rate.
The REIL Capital Referral Partnership Program
REIL Capital’s partner program pays a cash commission of 10%–30% of REIL Capital’s origination fee on every funded deal — not a percentage of the loan amount. Illustrative example: on a funded deal where REIL Capital’s origination fee is $4,000, a partner earning 10%–30% of that fee takes home $400–$1,200 on that single deal. Actual origination fees vary by deal, so this is a worked example, not a guaranteed dollar figure. The program spans seven financing products, with funded deals ranging from $5,000 to $10,000,000, and has no membership requirement — open sign-up, no military or DoD affiliation needed.
Navy Federal Referral vs. REIL Capital Partner Program
| Factor | Navy Federal Referral | REIL Capital Partner Program |
|---|---|---|
| Who can participate | Existing Navy Federal members only — requires military, DoD, or eligible family affiliation | Open sign-up, no membership or affiliation required |
| What you’re referring | Not publicly documented — Navy Federal doesn’t publish a referral-bonus structure for its business products | A business owner to a financing solution |
| Payout basis | Not publicly documented — Navy Federal doesn’t publish a referral-bonus structure for its business products | Cash commission — % of REIL Capital’s origination fee on the funded deal |
| Product scope | Navy Federal accounts and loans (membership-gated) | Working capital, SBA loans, lines of credit, invoice financing, and more |
Who the REIL Capital Program Fits
Anyone with a network of business owners — financial consultants, accountants and CPAs, marketing agencies, insurance agents — can join, regardless of military service or DoD affiliation. Referral traffic converts well as a channel in B2B generally (2.9% session-to-lead, per Ruler Analytics’ channel-conversion study, ahead of organic search and email), which is part of why referral-based partner programs are a standard acquisition channel across the lending industry.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can anyone join Navy Federal’s referral program?
No. You must already be a Navy Federal member to refer anyone, and membership itself is restricted to active-duty and veteran military, DoD civilians and certain contractors, and their eligible family members.
Does Navy Federal publish its business loan rates?
Mostly no. Of its four main business products, only the checking line of credit has a disclosed rate (17.90% APR) — the rest are described only as “competitive rates” with no published figure.
Is REIL Capital’s referral program open to non-military business owners?
Yes. There’s no membership, military service, or DoD affiliation requirement — sign-up is open to anyone with a network of business owners.
How much can I earn per referral with REIL Capital?
10%–30% of REIL Capital’s origination fee on the funded deal, not a percentage of the loan amount. The dollar amount depends on the size of the origination fee for that specific deal.
Join the REIL Capital Referral Program
Ready to turn your network into ongoing income, without a membership requirement? Learn more about REIL Capital’s referral partner program, or call our team at 646-440-4100 to get started.






